Anxious Portraiture – Group Show

A group show I curated in 2015 of paintings, prints and drawings from Glasgow based artists and works from artists based in Bolivia, Chile, Finland, Netherlands, Russia, UK, US.

Artists were invited to submit imagery responding to the show title and prompt:- ‘What is an anxious portrait? An image of someone or no-one, a thing you love or hate.’
Participating Artists -
Gabriella Aranibar De la Rocha - 
Tânia Cardoso - https://www.behance.net/taniacardoso
Laura X Carlé - http://www.lauraxcarle.com/
Laurence Elliot - http://www.laurenceelliott.co.uk/
Chris Fleming - 
Mono Gonzalez - http://monogonzalez.blogspot.co.uk/
David Kerr - http://www.davidpeterkerr.com
Bazhena Kutergina - https://artbazhena.wordpress.com/
Michelle Letowska - http://www.michelleletowska.com
Daniel Locke - http://www.daniellocke.com/
Tommi Musturi - http://www.tommimusturi.com/
Dave Sapien - http://www.davesapien.com/DaveSapien/
Sandra Schneider - http://sandraschneider.net/
Euan Sutherland - http://www.agitcollage.org
Anna Tanner - http://www.annatanner.com
Marco Toxico - http://mtoxico.wixsite.com/portafolio

Some highlights in the show included:

A Screen printed portrait of Salvador Allende by mural artist Mono González. Born in Curico, Chile in 1947, Gonzalez is best known for his murals focused on social justice and is one of the founding members and stylistic influences of the Brigada Romana Parra, a Chilean muralist collective.

A series of digital prints by Tommi Musturi from his, ‘Beating-book,’ series. Born in Ruovesi, Finland in 1975, Musturi is an illustrator and comic artist whose most recent titles, ‘The Book of Hope,’ and, ‘Simply Samuel,’ have been published by Fantagraphics.

A new painting series by Glasgow based artist Chris Fleming. Born in Kilmarnock, 1974, Fleming is an illustrator who has worked on a number of record sleeves including artwork for Biffy Clyro.

Digital prints by Bolivian illustrator Marco Toxicio. Based in La Paz, Toxico has exhibited his work internationally in 2012 he was awarded one of the 10 best illustrators at the COW International Design Festival, Ukraine. In 2013 he received a Jury Mention in the category of illustration in the Latin American Design Awards (University of Palermo, Buenos Aires.

A drawing by Laura X Carlé. Born in 1970, Buenos Aires, Argentina. Carlé lives and works in London. Her recent projects include Flat Pack Park with Up Projects, Ilford, London and The Deptford Anchor at the Southbank.

Prints by Tânia A. Cardoso (Lisbon, 1985). Cardoso is a young illustrator based in Rotterdam since January 2015. Her work has been exhibited in group exhibitions in Portugal, Brazil and the Netherlands. She won the Street Art competition Sesimbra is fish and street art” 2014 in Portugal and the “Worldwide Picture Book Illustration Competition” 2015 in the Netherlands.